Bush Fellows in the News

You are here

The following Bush Fellows were recently in the news:




  • Matt Rasmussen's ('09) first published book of poems, "Black Aperture," is one of five finalists on the 2013 National Book Award Shortlist for Poetry.
  • Emily Baxter (‘11) uses photography in her work titled “We Are All Criminals” to bring light to issues within the justice system in regard to the lingering effects of criminal records.
  • Stephanie Sorensen ('89) recently finished her book Stone Age Babies in a Space Age World: Babies and Bonding in the 21st Century. Chapters from the book can be found at callthedoula.blogspot.com.
  • The work of Taneeza Islam ('13) is featured on ArgusLeader.com.


  • Tracy Sides ('13) won the Saint Paul Foundation's $1 million Forever Saint Paul Challenge with her idea to create "The Urban Oasis, which connects food, nature and culture to transform existing space at the Bruce Vento Sanctuary.
  • Mark Mishek ('85) will lead operations of the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation.



  • From Judy Onofrio's exhibition, Full CircleJudy Onofrio's ('89) exhibition, Full Circle (right), is showing at Thom Barry Fine Arts in Minneapolis through August 29.
  • Patricia Sanchez (‘99) was recently promoted to Emergency Services Director for Sawyer County, WI. Check out the Facebook page for Sawyer County Search and Rescue, which includes a program she started that trains at-risk youth in search and rescue skills, for photos from a recent successful search and rescue.
  • Annette Lee (‘12) is on the cover of the April/May 2013 Central Minnesota Women and featured for her work in creating the Native Skywatchers Project.
  • Arlene Jones (‘13) of SPROUT and her work to move a local foods initiative forward is highlighted in the Brainerd Dispatch.
  • As another legislative session comes to an end, Peter Heegard (‘77) and Angie Eilers ('08) discuss the importance of measuring the effectiveness of the state’s budget to ensure the greatest impact at the highest rate of return possible.
  • Representative Ray Dehn ('12) talks with the StarTribune about the "ban the box" legislation he supported and why both political parties united to give ex-felons a second chance.


  • Zahra Aljabri (‘12) is building an online shop for women who want to look fashionable and be modest.
  • Nan Baker('13) talks with South Dakota Public Broadcasting about her new Bush Foundation fellowship and what she'll be doing to engage her community.


  • Dave Ellis ('13) aims to start a serious conversation among African-American men and boys that he says will jump-start social change.
  • The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) has elected William D. Allen, Ph.D. ('95), as its President-Elect.
  • Three Bush Fellows (Kevin Brooks ('13), Cheryl Kary ('13) and Ryan Taylor ('13)) are featured in the Grand Forks Herald for their work as the first cohort of 2013 Fellows.
  • The Bismarck Tribune highlights Cheryl Kary's ('13) work to develop a research tool to find out what the assets are of the Native American Community in Bismarck-Mandan and set up programs that utilize these skills throughout the community.
  • Jimmy Longoria (‘10), co-founder of the nonprofit Mentoring Peace Through Art, recently received the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board’s 2013 Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. “Living the Dream” Award and also the Ordway’s Sally Vision Award for his contributions to creating a sense of community centered on art and youth leadership development.
  • Kristine Miller ('12) received the 2013 University of Minnesota Outstanding Community Service Award - Faculty.
  • Kari Nidfeldt-Thomas (‘07 ) is featured in Minnesota Business’  “The (Real) Power 50.”
  • Megan Rye (‘10) co-chaired Art 4 Shelter and the event raised over $55,000 for Simpson Housing Services homeless shelter.
  • Chuck Waibel ('13) to pursue growth of deep winter, local foods economy.


  • The Ananya Dance Theatre performed “Moreechika: Season of Mirage,” choreographed by Dr. Ananya Chatterjea (‘02), at the Harare International Festival of the Arts in Zimbabwe.
  • Shirl Chouinard’s (‘12) artwork was featured at the Pearl Crisis Center Fashion Show and aims to draw attention to domestic violence.
  • The play “Nice Fish” is currently running at the Guthrie Theater and is authored by Mark Rylance and Louis Jenkins (‘79, ’84).
  • Gayle Kocer (’12) discusses the need for rural lawyers and a new law passed to help attract and retain them in rural South Dakota.
  • Brent Olson’s ('12) “Inadvertent Café” is now open in Clinton, MN and has many goals for its present and future use.
  • Keri Pickett's (‘92, ’10) documentary “The Fabulous Ice Age” was selected as “Best of Fest” at the Minneapolis/Saint Paul International Film Festival and will be screened again on Thursday, May 2 at 7:00 p.m. For more information, visit mspfilmfest.org.
  • Matt Rasmussen ('09) receives the 2012 Walt Whitman Award
  • Honor Schauland (‘12) is working to bring diversity, sustainability to Finland, MN's economy.
  • Dr. Anton Treuer (’08) will be featured as a mini keynote speaker at the 2013 Education Minnesota Professional Conference held on October 17, 2013 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre.
  • Tene Wells (‘12) will be part of a panel discussion focusing on transitioning into encore careers at the University of Saint Thomas on Monday, April 29, 2013.


  • Joe Chvala (’94) is directing the Carleton Players, along with the renowned dance/theater company the Flying Foot Forum, in an exciting new adaptation of Lewis Carroll’s classic Alice in Wonderland. Performances will be held in the Weitz Center for Creativity Theater on April 11, 12 and 13 at 7:30 p.m and April 14 at 2:00 p.m.
  • During March, Nirmala Rajasekar (’06) will be performing at the Golden Valley Public Library, Hosmer Public Library and at Hamline University.


  • Steve Couture ('95) steps out of retirement to become the principal at American Indian Magnet School.
  • The James Sewell ('02) Ballet Company returns to the Historic Holmes Theatre in Detroit Lakes.
  • David Treuer ('03) recently published his fifth book, Rez Life.
  • Dr. Anton Treuer (‘08) wins 2012 Ken Hale Prize for linguistics.
  • Three Bush Fellows won MN Book Awards this past weekend. David Treuer (‘08) won the general fiction award for "Rez Life," Patricia Kirkpatrick (‘90) in the poetry for "Odessa" and Robert Hedin ('97) received the Kay Sexton Award for lifelong contributions to our wonderful literary community.
  • Sean M. Virnig (‘06) leads an internationally renowned bilingual school for the Deaf and is featured as a 2013 Rising Alumni at the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.

Jump to Bush Fellows news from: 2013, 2012, 2011