2017 Bush Prize for Community Innovation Winners

November 14, 2017

The Bush Foundation awarded the 2017 Bush Prize for Community Innovation to seven organizations with track records of making great ideas happen. 

Now in its fifth year, the Bush Prize celebrates organizations that are extraordinary not only in what they do but in how they do it. As models of true problem solving, they work inclusively, in partnership with others, to make their communities better for all. 

“The Bush Prize recognizes organizations that are creative, fierce and dogged in the way they work and in what they accomplish,” said Bush President Jennifer Ford Reedy. “As models for problem solving, they consistently pick a path of innovation that drives profound results for their communities.”

Bush Prize winners receive a package that includes promotional support and materials, and an unrestricted grant equal to 25 percent of the organization’s prior fiscal year budget, up to $500,000.

The Foundation received 127 applications from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geography for the 2017 Bush Prize. Three panels of community members chose the winners from their respective states. 

“The 2017 winners are unstoppable forces who show up every day determined to create collective solutions for their communities,” said Mandy Ellerton, Community Innovation Director. “They push through challenges and hardship for causes they care about, stirring up and inspiring much-needed change in the places they call home.”