2018 Bush Prize for Community Innovation Winners

November 13, 2018
2018 Bush Prize Winners

The Bush Foundation awarded the 2018 Bush Prize for Community Innovation to six organizations with a track record of successful community problem solving.

The Bush Prize celebrates organizations that are extraordinary not only in what they do but in how they do it. This year’s winners are recognized for working inclusively, in partnership with others, to make their communities better for all.

“The 2018 winners drive breakthrough solutions for our region,” said Bush President Jennifer Ford Reedy. “They demonstrate an amazing ability to tackle whatever complex issue comes their way by engaging their communities to identify and solve problems.”

The 2018 Bush Prize winners are:

Capital Area Counseling Service
Pierre, SD

Mid-Dakota Education Cooperative
Minot, ND

Native American Community Board
Yankton, SD

Nexus Community Partners
Minneapolis/Saint Paul, MN 

Northwest Indian Community Development Center
Bemidji, MN

Springboard for the Arts
Saint Paul and Fergus Falls, MN 

The Bush Prize is awarded annually in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geography. Winners receive a package that includes promotional support and materials, and an unrestricted grant equal to 25 percent of the organization’s prior fiscal year budget, up to $500,000.

The Foundation received 110 applications in 2018. Three panels of community members chose the winners from their respective states.

“The 2018 winners are fierce and bold in their attitude and actions,” said Mandy Ellerton, Community Innovation Director. “They take on daunting challenges and persevere until they find smart solutions that make their communities better places to live and work.”