2016 Bush Fellows Grid

Announcing the 2016 Bush Fellows

March 22, 2016

A review of Bush Fellows and their impact on the region over the past 50 years quickly illustrates the value of investing in individuals. This foundational belief continues to drive the Bush Fellowship Program.

In 2016 the Bush Foundation will invest in 24 individuals with records of achievement and extraordinary potential to make significant contributions in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geography.

The Bush Fellowship is distinctive in its flexibility, allowing Fellows to articulate what they need to become better leaders and providing them with the support to make it happen. Fellows receive up to $100,000 over 12–24 months to pursue learning experiences that help them develop leadership skills and attributes. The Fellowship can be used for advanced education, networking opportunities, and access to leadership resources, workshops and trainings.

“We are thrilled to support this class of Fellows as they pursue the knowledge, connections and experiences that will help them be more effective leaders,” said Bush Foundation President Jennifer Ford Reedy.

More than 2,200 people have taken advantage of the Fellowship to become better leaders through a self-designed learning experience, academic program or travel across the country to build connections with thought leaders on topics critical to their community. The Bush Fellowship counts among its alumni former Minnesota Governor Arne Carlson, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright August Wilson, and President Obama’s Special Assistant for Native American Affairs Karen Diver.

A total of 465 people applied for the 2016 Bush Fellowship. These 24 Fellows were selected through a multi-stage process involving Bush Fellow alumni, Bush Foundation staff and established regional leaders. Applicants described their leadership vision and passion and how a Bush Fellowship would help them achieve their goals.

The Bush Foundation will accept applications for the 2017 Bush Fellowship beginning August 30, 2016. The Bush Fellowship is open to anyone age 24 years and older who lives in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota or one of the 23 Native nations that share the same geography.