Meet the 2016 Bush Prize for Community Innovation Grant Winners

November 15, 2016

The Bush Foundation awarded the 2016 Bush Prize for Community Innovation to six organizations that respond to complex social challenges by making great ideas happen. 

Awarded since 2013, the Bush Prize honors and supports organizations with a track record of effective, and equitable breakthroughs to community challenges. Winners demonstrate a pattern of inclusive, collaborative and resourceful problem-solving processes that lead to innovative solutions. 

“Each year we lift up and invest in some of the region’s most outstanding problem solving organizations,” said Bush President Jennifer Ford Reedy, “I hope people will get to know the newest Bush Prize winners and how they’re transforming the region.”

Bush Prize winners receive a package that includes promotional opportunities and an unrestricted grant equal to 25 percent of the organization’s prior fiscal year budget, up to $500,000.

“We hope this year’s Bush Prize winners will inspire new ways of looking at tough challenges,” said Mandy Ellerton, Community Innovation Director. “No matter their issue area, these six organizations are experts at bringing community perspectives and resources into the work.”

The Foundation received 66 applications from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geography for the 2016 Bush Prize. Three panels of community members chose the winners from each of their respective states.

Learn more about the Bush Prize for Community Innovation, including past winners.